Flobots

“I can ride my bike with no handlebars… No handlebars… No handlebars!”

Talk about a really catchy song! The video is a little graphic towards the end, but it has a very strong message that is sure to make you think. But before I start to digress, I’ll remind myself that this post isn’t about this song alone. The band itself is just too damn interesting.

The Flobots are from Denver, Colorado. Score one for the home team =) Formed by frontman Jamie “Jonny 5” Laurie, the other members are Stephen “Brer Rabbit” Brackett, Andy “Rok” Guerrero, Jesse Walker, Kenny Oritz, and Mackenzie Gault. They are lead vocals, lead vocals, guitar/vocals, bass guitar, drums, and viola/vocals respectively. Yes, the viola, an instrument that confuses me greatly (have you read my About Me page? It’s long, I know) But she plays it well. And I should know, I’ve seen these guys live. =)

In August of 2007, The Flobots opened for another Colorado band The Fray (more on them later) at Red Rocks Ampitheater, an all outdoors and near acoustically perfect venue up in the mountains. My little brother got four tickets somehow, and being the really cool guy that he is, he took me with him. I was astounded by their music. They were as good as the band they were opening for. But again, I’ve found myself on an train of thought with steadily eroding tracks, so let’s re-focus:

The holiday season of every year spurs a contest called “Hometown for the Holidays” on my favorite radio station, KTCL (Channel 93.3) here in Denver. (Note that they aren’t paying me to say that either.) Listeners get to vote for their favorite songs from 40 or so Colorado bands. Flobots won in both sides of the contest in 2007. (Radio and Live performance) The song was “Handlebars.”

“I can ride my bike with no handlebars… No handlebars… No handlebars!” Can you? =)

_Saxton


3 responses to “Flobots

  • momfog

    Well, I know what’s going to be running through my head for the rest of the night. I’ve never heard this before and I like it, despite the dark turn there at the end. The music is great.

    I’ll be looking for your post on The Fray.

  • theSaxton

    I’m glad you like it =) I’m working on The Fray right now, trying to get a little more in depth with each post.

  • akku bohrschrauber test

    I ueed to be suggested this web site by means of
    my cousin. I’m no longer positive whethedr this submit is written by way of him as
    nobody else understand such certain approximately my trouble.

    You are incredible! Thank you!

Leave a comment